Pavement - Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain (1994)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 4:50 AM

Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain is an album released by Pavement in 1994. With this album, the band abandoned the lo-fi sound displayed on Slanted and Enchanted (as well as their drummer, Gary Young). During the tour for Slanted, the band added percussionist Bob Nastanovich and bassist Mark Ibold; partway through this album's recording sessions, Gary Young was replaced by Steve West. The album featured the band at its most easily accessible, and the single "Cut Your Hair" was the band's closest brush with mainstream success. As of 2007, the album has sold almost 500,000 copies.

The album was reissued on October 26, 2004 by Matador Records under the name Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain: LA's Desert Origins. The re-released version contains two discs: the first is the original album as well as B-sides and compilation tracks from that era. The second disc is a collection of previously unreleased tracks featuring former drummer Gary Young and live BBC Sessions.

The collection features forty-nine tracks, culled from various previous recordings, including the original album, the single "Cut Your Hair", "Range Life", "Gold Soundz", the "Gold Soundz" Australia-N.Z. French Micronesia Tour '94 EP, the "Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain" bonus 7", and other recording sessions at Random Falls, NY, Louder Than You Think in Stockton, CA, and Waterworks, NY over the course of 1993.

The photo in the middle of the cover was taken from the March 1974 issue of National Geographic Magazine.

Due to an ink splodge on the back of the original artwork, the song "Silence Kid" has become erroneously known as "Silence Kit". This misnomer persisted when designer Mark Ohe printed it onto the back of the re-issue Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain: LA's Desert Origins, despite the interior artwork showing the correct name in print several times, including written in Stephen Malkmus's own handwriting.

It was chosen as #8 on Pitchfork Media's Top 100 Albums of the 1990s. In 2003, the album was ranked number 210 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

All songs were written by Stephen Malkmus except "Hit the Plane Down".
1. Silence Kit (3:00)
2. Elevate Me Later (2:51)
3. Stop Breathin (4:27)
4. Cut Your Hair (3:06)
5. Newark Wilder (3:53)
6. Unfair (2:33)
7. Gold Soundz (2:39)
8. 5-4 = Unity (2:09)
9. Range Life (4:54)
10. Heaven's a Truck (2:30)
11. Hit the Plane Down (3:36)
12. Fillmore Jive (6:38)

0 Response to 'Pavement - Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain (1994)'

Post a Comment