Tim Buckley - Tim Buckley (1966)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 12:26 AM

Timothy Charles Buckley III (February 14, 1947 – June 29, 1975) was an American vocalist and musician who went through many distinct phases spanning the late 1960s and early 1970s, in which he incorporated aspects of folk, jazz, psychedelia, funk, soul, and avant-garde rock. He died when he was 28 years old, survived by his wife and adopted son Taylor, and his biological son from an earlier marriage, Jeff (who would later become a well-known musician in his own right).
Tim recorded his debut album, Tim Buckley, over three days in Los Angeles in August 1966. Tim later denigrated the album, describing it as "like Disneyland". The album's folk-rock style was largely typical of the time, but critics noted Tim's distinctive voice and tuneful compositions. The tracks featured were written with Larry Beckett while the two were in high school.

The record featured Buckley and a backing band of Orange County friends, as well as Lee Underwood, a former poet and high school English teacher who Tim met in Greenwich Village. Underwood's mix of jazz and country improvisation on a twangy telecaster became a distinctive part of Tim's early sound. Jac Holzman and Paul Rothchild's production style and Jack Nitzsche's string arrangements cemented in the record's mid-sixties sound.
01 I can't see you
02 Wings
03 Song of teh magician
04 Strange street affair under blue
05 Valentine melody
06 Aren't you the girl
07 Song slowly song
08 It happens every time
09 Song for Janie
10 Grief in my soul
11 She is
12 Understand your man

0 Response to 'Tim Buckley - Tim Buckley (1966)'

Post a Comment