The Sopwith Camel - Sopwith Camel (1967)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 2:03 AM

The band formed in late 1965 and their lineup consisted of vocalist and saxophone player Peter Kraemer, guitarists Terry MacNeil and William Sievers, bassist Martin Beard and drummer Norman Mayell. Sopwith Camel is best known for being the second San Francisco band to get a recording contract with a national record label and the first to have a Top 40 hit.
Sopwith Camel released their first album (and only album recording during the 1960s), the eponymous Sopwith Camel, in 1967 on the Kama Sutra Records label. The band's only hit single, "Hello, Hello", became the first hit title to emerge from the San Francisco rock scene and reached #26 on the U.S. pop music charts in January 1967. The band's first album, and the vaudevillian "Hello, Hello" in particular, had more in common soundwise with earlier songs by The Lovin' Spoonful than typical 1960s psychedelic rock; producer Erik Jacobsen produced for both Sopwith Camel and The Lovin' Spoonful. The band was unable to follow up the success of their first album and hit single and disbanded later in 1967. Sopwith Camel's debut album has been re-released twice as Frantic Desolation in 1986 and as Hello Hello Again in 1990
01. Hello, Hello
02. Frantic Desolation
03. Saga of the Low Down Let Down
04. Little Orphan Annie
05. You Always Tell Me Baby
06. Maybe in a Dream
07. Cellophane Woman
08. The Things That I Could Do With You
09. Walk in the Park
10. The Great Morpheum
11. Postcard from Jamaica
12. Treadin' [bonus)

0 Response to 'The Sopwith Camel - Sopwith Camel (1967)'

Post a Comment