Suicide - Suicide (1977)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 6:12 AM

Suicide is the influential first studio album by American No Wave band Suicide, released in 1977. It is often cited as the first synth pop album, but is more intense than most albums of the genre. In 2003, the album was ranked number 446 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

"Frankie Teardrop" is one of the songs featured in Nick Hornby's 2002 book 31 Songs, and appears in Rainer Werner Fassbinder's 1978 film In a Year of 13 Moons. "Cheree" is featured in the closing scene of Downtown 81 with artist Jean-Michel Basquiat. "Girl" briefly appears in Nick Zedd's 1979 film They Eat Scum. "Ghost Rider" was featured on the soundtrack of the 2006 video game Driver: Parallel Lines and also appears on True Crime: New York City.

"Ghost Rider" has been covered by R.E.M., Rollins Band, Merzbow and The Young Gods, and was featured in a Brazilian deodorant commercial in 2005.

In September 2009 the album will be performed live in its entirety as part of the All Tomorrow's Parties-curated Don't Look Back series.
01. Ghost Rider – 2:33
02. Rocket U.S.A. – 4:17
03. Cheree – 3:41
04. Johnny – 2:10
05. Girl – 4:06
06. Frankie Teardrop – 10:25
07. Che – 4:51

0 Response to 'Suicide - Suicide (1977)'

Post a Comment