Daughters of Albion - Daughters of Albion (1968)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 12:26 AM

Inspired by the Beatles' Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, the Daughters of the Albion took a hook-laden, harmony-filled approach to late-'60s rock. Representing the combined efforts of vocalist/guitarist/songwriter Greg Dempsey and vocalist Kathy Yesse, the Daughters of the Albion failed to match critical expectations. Billboard described the duo as "a striking voice but uneven material." Featuring original songs by Dempsey, some written with Dave Luff, the Daughters of the Albion's sole self-titled album was produced and arranged by Leon Russell. After the duo's breakup, Yesse went to record a solo album, Boogie Bands & One Night Stands, as Kathy Dalton, in 1973. Produced by Dempsey, and featuring accompaniment by Van Dyke Parks, Carl Wilson, and members of Little Feat, the album was later renamed Amazing and reissued, with one different track by Frank Zappa's Discreet label.
01 I Love Her and She Loves My
02 Still Care About You
03 Yes, Our Love Is Growing
04 Candle Song
05 Ladyfingers
06 Sweet Susan Constantine
07 Hats Off, Arms Out, Ronnie
08 Good to Have You
09 Well Wired
10 Hey, You, Wait, Stay
11 Story of Sad
12 1968: John Flip Lockup (Medley)

0 Response to 'Daughters of Albion - Daughters of Albion (1968)'

Post a Comment