Damien Youth - Mortuary (1990)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 2:46 AM

The All Music Guide describes Damien Youth: A mysterious cassette-only artist who began putting out material on tape in the late 1980s, although some of it started to appear on CD in the late 1990s. His music is haunting, acoustic rock with a sense of British whimsy akin to Robyn Hitchcock or Donovan (although, as his tapes were distributed from Louisiana, it's uncertain whether the singer is British). It's solid, melodic stuff that would most likely appeal to Hitchcock fans, despite the sparse production. His BRIDE OF THE ASYLUM CD of 1998 put some of his work into slightly larger circulation, in better fidelity

This 6 song E.P. was also recorded in 1990. Damien is joined by the great steele guitar player DAVE EASLEY. But don't expect to hear steele guitar. Dave has turned his steele guitar into a small string section! These are also home recordings but the sound stays consistant as all 6 songs were recorded at the same session. This E.P. is only available as a free bonus with purchase of THE MAN WHO INVENTED GOD.
Check out all there is to know about Damien Youth and buy his records HERE.
01. Mortuary
02. Widow Witch
03. Cradle Room
04. Jonathon Child
05. Mary Wake Up
06. Agatha Crain

0 Response to 'Damien Youth - Mortuary (1990)'

Post a Comment