Walrus - Walrus (1970)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 5:17 AM

"Walrus" by Walrus was released in late 1970 on the Deram label in the UK. Their lone album - like so many LPs on Deram (Decca's progressive rock label imprint) sold precious little at the time, but in hindsight has become something of a sought-after rarity. I've seen it command sums way into three figures sterling - much more than its guide price - and the two 7" singles that surrounded the release are impossibly rare and hard to get too.

Here's the breakdown (44:20 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 7 make up the album "Walrus", issued December 1970 on Deram SML 1072 in the UK only (there is another Walrus by Walrus in the USA, but it's not the same band)

The 1st and only other single issued around the album was "Who Can I Trust" b/w "Tomorrow Never Comes" (Tracks 1 and 7 on the LP); it was issued the same month as the album, December 1970 on Deram DM 308

The 8-man band consisted of:
STEVE HAWTHORN on Bass Guitar (founder member)
JOHN SCATES on Lead & Rhythm Guitar
BARRY PARFITT on Piano and Organ
DON RICHARDS on Trumpet, ROY VACE on Tenor Sax and BILL HOAD on Alto & Baritone Saxophones and Flutes

The tunes are sometimes a little over complicated for their own good and the lyrics to "Why" are cringingly awful hippy lore, but I just love the B, S & T feel on almost all of the tracks which they combine with that Mick Abrahams/Blodwyn Pig background of sound. A particular highlight is "Coloured Rain", a seven-minute TRAFFIC cover version done instrumental style. by M. Barry
1. Who Can I Trust?
2. Rags and Old Iron/Blind Man/Roadside
3. Why?
4. Turning/Woman/Turning
5. Sunshine Needs Me
6. Coloured Rain/Mother's Dead Face in Memoriam/Coloured Rain (Reprise)
7. Tomorrow Never Comes

0 Response to 'Walrus - Walrus (1970)'

Post a Comment