Soft Machine - Fifth (1972)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 1:19 AM

Fifth, issued in the USA and some other countries as 5, is a 1972 studio album by the Canterbury band Soft Machine. The two editions of this album have different cover art, but identical contents.

Fifth was the first Soft Machine album recorded after the departure of founding member Robert Wyatt and continued the band's trend from their original blend of psychedelic and progressive rock towards jazz fusion. Wyatt's replacement was Phil Howard who contributed to the 1971 sessions that comprise side one, after which he left and was replaced by John Marshall for the 1972 recordings that make up side two. Future member Roy Babbington played double bass on side two, as a session musician. Unlike the previous two albums, Elton Dean's saxophone is not augmented by a brass and reeds section comprised of session musicians.

An alternate version of "All White" appeared on their next album, Six. "Pigling Bland" was composed in 1969 for inclusion in a revised arrangement of the "Esther's Nose Job" suite
01. All White
02. Dro
03. M. C.
04. As If
05. L B O
06. Pigling Bland
07. Bone

0 Response to 'Soft Machine - Fifth (1972)'

Post a Comment

Blog Archive