Bob Dylan - John Wesley Harding (1967)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 12:27 AM

John Wesley Harding is Bob Dylan's 8th studio album, released by Columbia Records in 1967.

Produced by Bob Johnston, the album marked Dylan's return to acoustic music and traditional roots, after three albums of electric rock music. John Wesley Harding was recorded around the same time as (and shares many stylistic threads with) a prolific series of home recording sessions with The Band, finally released in 1975 as The Basement Tapes.

John Wesley Harding was exceptionally well received by critics and enjoyed solid sales, reaching the number 2 slot on U.S. charts and topping the British charts. The commercial performance was considered remarkable considering that Dylan had kept Columbia from releasing the album with much promotion or publicity. Less than three months after its release, John Wesley Harding was certified gold by the RIAA. Although Dylan also decided against releasing a single, "All Along the Watchtower" became one of his most popular songs after it was covered by Jimi Hendrix the following year.

In 2003, the album was ranked number 301 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.
Morde detailed info about the album HERE.
01. John Wesley Harding
02. As I went out one morning
03. I dreamed I saw St. Augustine
04. All along the watchtower
05. The ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest
06. Drifter's Escape
07. Dear Landlord
08. I am a lonesome hobo
09. I pity the poor immigrant
10. The wicked messenger
11. Down Along the cove
12. I'll be your baby tonight

0 Response to 'Bob Dylan - John Wesley Harding (1967)'

Post a Comment

Blog Archive